The Office of the Provost wishes to see that U-M faculty members are recognized for excellence in all aspects of their work. The office administers several award programs. The Rackham School of Graduate Studies and several other campus units administer additional award programs.

Administered by the Office of the Provost

Arthur F. Thurnau Professorships

Deadline: December 1, 2023
– Note to LSA administrators: LSA’s internal due date is October 6, 2023. Please contact the Dean’s Office for additional information.
– Note to COE administrators: COE’s internal due date is November 17, 2023.
(Administered by the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching on behalf of the Provost’s Office.)
Recognize and reward faculty whose commitment to and investment in undergraduate teaching has had a demonstrable impact on the intellectual development and lives of their students. Nominees must be full-time tenured faculty on the Ann Arbor campus.

Collegiate Professorships

Collegiate Professorships are specially funded positions that recognize faculty member excellence with an appointment that is funded to provide an annual stipend as well as funds to support research or academic travel. In awarding a collegiate professorship, the new title includes the name of a former faculty member whose career is related to the faculty member receiving the honor.

Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award

Deadline: April 3, 2023
Recognize faculty whose service contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community. Nominees must be full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty on the Ann Arbor campus.

Mellon Foundation

By invitation only. Direct inquiries to the Office of the Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs.

Administered by the Office of the Provost/
University Human Resources

Candace J. Johnson Award for Staff Excellence

The Candace J. Johnson Staff Award for Excellence recognizes staff members who, like Candy, are a positive influence in the workplace. All regular staff members on the Ann Arbor campus and at Michigan Medicine are eligible. Staff may be nominated by colleagues or supervisors or a combination of the two.

Administered by the Rackham Graduate School

Other U-M Awards & Honors of Interest to Faculty Members